Retrincon Publishing

Does Celsius Break a Fast? The Choice Is Reversible

Yes. A standard 12-fluid-ounce CELSIUS breaks a strict zero-calorie fast: the manufacturer’s Sparkling Orange label reports 10 calories per can, despite 0 grams of total carbohydrate and 0 grams of added sugar. For weight-loss intermittent fasting, those 10 calories can be recorded and the normal schedule resumed; the choice does not erase earlier fasting windows. For fasting blood work, the National Library of Medicine permits plain water only. Before a procedure, follow the care team’s permitted-liquid instructions and report any CELSIUS consumed. That test-day decision may require a delay, while an ordinary eating schedule can restart at the next planned window.

Does Celsius break a strict fast?

A strict fast excludes calories. Cleveland Clinic’s 2026 intermittent-fasting guidance, reviewed with registered dietitian Julia Zumpano, RD, LD, says calorie-containing food and drinks do not maintain a fasting state. It identifies water, carbonated water, black coffee and unsweetened tea as acceptable choices. A CELSIUS can carrying 10 labeled calories falls outside that rule.

“Zero sugar” answers a different question. The Sparkling Orange ingredient list includes sucralose, while the Nutrition Facts panel reports calories. A product can therefore be sugar-free and still fail a zero-calorie standard. Consistent bookkeeping calls the drinking moment the end of that strict window.

Some intermittent-fasting plans deliberately permit a small amount of energy. Cleveland Clinic describes alternate-day formats that use restricted-calorie days as well as versions with no calories. Under a modified plan, CELSIUS may fit the plan’s written allowance. It still carries the label’s 10 calories.

What does the CELSIUS label actually declare?

Product line matters. Treat the can like a kitchen spec sheet: confirm the line, package size and serving before applying any number.

Original CELSIUS

The manufacturer’s Sparkling Orange page provides a useful reference for the standard line. Its back label declares one serving per container, a serving size of 12 fluid ounces (355 milliliters), 10 calories, 0 grams total carbohydrate and 200 milligrams of caffeine. The same label places added sugars among nutrients for which the drink is not a significant source, and the manufacturer markets the product as zero sugar; the label value is 0 grams added sugar.

The combination of 10 calories and 0 grams carbohydrate is allowed under federal rounding rules. Under 21 CFR §101.9, calories at this level are rounded to the nearest 5-calorie increment, while total carbohydrate below 0.5 gram may appear as zero. Added sugar below 0.5 gram may also appear as zero. A printed zero is a regulated label value. Laboratory analysis may still detect a trace amount below the declaration threshold.

CELSIUS Essentials

CELSIUS Essentials is a different recipe and package. The official Blue Crush label declares a 16-fluid-ounce (473-milliliter) serving, 10 calories, 0 grams total carbohydrate and 270 milligrams of caffeine. Its ingredient list names three amino acids: L-theanine, L-isoleucine and L-leucine.

The manufacturer does not disclose amino-acid grams per serving on that Nutrition Facts panel or product page. Its 0-gram protein declaration cannot be converted into a 0-gram free-amino-acid claim, because the three compounds appear separately in the ingredient list. The defensible quantity is therefore “not disclosed.” Anyone fasting for a reason that depends on amino-acid exposure should avoid treating CELSIUS Essentials as interchangeable with the original can.

How does the answer change with the purpose of the fast?

The same drink creates four different consequences because each fast has a different operating rule.

| Purpose | Does CELSIUS fit during the fast? | Evidence that controls the decision | What happens after an accidental can? | |---|---|---|---| | Strict zero-calorie fast | No | The standard can declares 10 calories; Cleveland Clinic excludes calorie-containing drinks from a fasting state. | End that window at the first sip and use the next planned window for a fresh start. | | Weight-loss intermittent fasting | It depends on the chosen protocol | Modified plans can include restricted-calorie periods, while strict windows exclude calories. | Record the 10 calories and continue the established schedule. | | Fasting blood work | No | MedlinePlus says the usual laboratory fast allows plain water only. | Report the product, quantity and time to the laboratory or ordering clinician. | | Procedure preparation | Only with explicit permission from the care team | The permitted liquids and cutoff depend on the procedure and anesthesia plan. | Contact the procedure team; that team decides whether the appointment can proceed. |

The distinction prevents an inexpensive drink from creating an expensive mistake. A disrupted personal eating window can be repeated. An inaccurate specimen or cancelled procedure consumes clinical time and may require another appointment.

Can CELSIUS fit a weight-loss intermittent-fasting plan?

It can fit the broader weight-loss plan while ending a strict fasting window. Those statements describe different levels of accounting. The can adds the manufacturer’s declared 10 calories to the day. It does not retroactively alter earlier days or compliant windows.

Cleveland Clinic registered dietitian Julia Zumpano, RD, LD, captures the needed restraint: “Weight loss is never a one-size-fits-all approach.” Her guidance says fasting plans should be sustainable and that calorie-containing drinks do not maintain the fasting state. For a strict schedule, place CELSIUS inside the eating window. For a modified schedule, write the allowance down before opening the can; a rule invented after the first sip is poor recordkeeping.

Sucralose deserves precision too. Cleveland Clinic cautions that artificial sweeteners such as sucralose have the potential to end a fasting state. A 2023 systematic review and network meta-analysis led by Roselyn Zhang examined 36 acute trials involving 472 mostly healthy participants. In the conditions where non-nutritive sweetened drinks were consumed alone, glucose and insulin responses were similar to water, with generally low-to-moderate confidence in the evidence. These sources differ in scope and practical framing: Cleveland Clinic gives cautious consumer guidance, whereas the review reports acute biomarkers under trial conditions. The trials did not test CELSIUS, prolonged fasting, weight loss or autophagy. They cannot turn a 10-calorie product into a zero-calorie one, and they do challenge blanket claims that every sweetener inevitably produces the same acute insulin response.

Can CELSIUS be consumed before fasting blood work?

No. MedlinePlus, the consumer health service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, says a fasting blood test usually requires 8 to 12 hours without food or drink except plain water. Its instructions specifically exclude juice, coffee, soda and other beverages because absorbed ingredients can change what the test measures.

That standard settles the Celsius fasting for blood work question. The manufacturer’s labels report 10 calories and 200 milligrams of caffeine for Original CELSIUS, and 10 calories with 270 milligrams for Essentials. Both contain additional ingredients. Neither belongs in a plain-water laboratory fast, even though both carry zero-sugar claims.

MedlinePlus also tells patients to disclose any failure to follow preparation instructions. After an accidental can, report the exact product line, can size, amount consumed and time. The laboratory or ordering clinician can then decide whether the requested test remains interpretable or should be rescheduled.

Can CELSIUS be consumed before a procedure?

Only when the procedure team has expressly allowed it. Procedure rules address aspiration risk, visibility, medication effects and the planned anesthesia; a generic internet rule cannot replace the instructions attached to an appointment.

The American Society of Anesthesiologists’ patient guidance for upper endoscopy, for example, says to consume no food or drink for at least 8 hours before the procedure and to follow any additional instructions from the physician. Its surgical-preparation checklist also asks patients to disclose medications, vitamins, supplements and stimulant use. Because CELSIUS combines caffeine with supplement-style ingredients, the reversible move is a phone call before arrival. The care team owns the proceed-or-delay decision.

Does CELSIUS end ketosis?

The label alone cannot show a person’s ketone state. A 2025 review in Frontiers in Nutrition by Cristina Fante and colleagues defines nutritional ketosis as a blood beta-hydroxybutyrate concentration of 0.5 to 5.0 millimoles per liter. The review also documents variation across people and testing times, which is why capillary blood measurement is more informative than guessing from a can.

Original CELSIUS declares 0 grams total carbohydrate, although federal rounding permits a value below 0.5 gram to display as zero. That small declared carbohydrate exposure makes loss of ketosis less obvious than it would be after a sugar-sweetened drink. No cited manufacturer study establishes what one CELSIUS does to fasting beta-hydroxybutyrate.

Ketosis and a strict fast can therefore yield different answers after the same sip. The 10 calories end a zero-calorie window under Cleveland Clinic’s rule. A blood reading within the review’s 0.5-to-5.0-millimole range would still meet its definition of nutritional ketosis. People using therapeutic ketogenic diets need the targets and testing protocol set by their clinical team.

Does CELSIUS stop autophagy?

Available human evidence cannot answer that for CELSIUS. Cleveland Clinic’s medical review says animal studies suggest fasting-related autophagy may begin after 24 to 48 hours, then states that research has not established an ideal trigger time in humans. A can-specific on/off threshold does not exist in that guidance.

The manufacturer’s labels report 10 calories and taurine for Original CELSIUS. Essentials lists L-theanine, L-isoleucine and L-leucine without disclosing their gram amounts. Those facts prevent a defensible claim that either product preserves the same nutrient-deprived condition as water. They also prevent a precise claim that one can shuts down autophagy throughout the body.

For a Celsius autophagy goal or a strict Celsius water fast, plain water avoids the unresolved ingredient and dose questions. Restarting the chosen fasting window is measurable; assigning an exact cellular reset time is not supported by the human evidence cited here.

How reversible is drinking CELSIUS during a fast?

A personal fasting window can restart at the next eating-and-fasting cycle. Medical preparation has a shorter decision window, so the recovery sequence should follow the purpose of the fast.

  1. Identify the CELSIUS product. Record Original or Essentials, the can size, the amount consumed and the time. The caffeine difference between the referenced lines is 200 versus 270 milligrams.
  2. Match the fast to its purpose. A strict zero-calorie window ended at the first sip. A modified weight-loss protocol follows its prewritten calorie allowance. Ketosis requires a ketone measurement if the result matters.
  3. Contact the clinical team for medical fasting. Give the laboratory or procedure team the recorded details. MedlinePlus assigns the decision about test preparation to the provider, and anesthesia instructions belong to the procedure team.
  4. Resume the planned intermittent-fasting schedule. Record the label’s 10 calories, place future energy drinks inside the eating window and begin the next ordinary fast as scheduled. Cleveland Clinic’s guidance favors a repeatable routine over extreme compensation.

Resume the ordinary window without a punitive extension. Protect the accuracy of a blood test and the safety plan for a procedure by giving the clinical team the recorded details.

FAQ

Does Celsius break intermittent fasting for weight loss?

Under a strict zero-calorie rule, yes: a standard 12-fluid-ounce CELSIUS label lists 10 calories. Cleveland Clinic dietitian guidance excludes calorie-containing drinks from fasting periods. For a broader weight-loss plan, record those 10 calories and return to the usual schedule. Earlier compliant fasting windows remain unchanged.

Can I drink Celsius before fasting blood work?

No. MedlinePlus says fasting blood tests usually require 8 to 12 hours with nothing except plain water. CELSIUS contains calories, caffeine and other ingredients. Tell the laboratory or ordering clinician the exact product, amount and time consumed; that professional decides whether testing can proceed or needs rescheduling.

Will Celsius kick me out of ketosis?

A can does not establish the answer. Original CELSIUS declares 0 grams total carbohydrate and 10 calories, while federal rules allow trace carbohydrate to round to zero. A Frontiers in Nutrition review defines nutritional ketosis as blood beta-hydroxybutyrate from 0.5 to 5.0 millimoles per liter. Measurement resolves the question.

Does Celsius stop autophagy?

No human study provides a CELSIUS-specific answer. Cleveland Clinic says animal research places fasting-related autophagy around 24 to 48 hours, while the ideal human timing remains unknown. CELSIUS has 10 labeled calories, and Essentials lists three amino acids without gram amounts, so claims of preserved autophagy exceed the evidence.

Jarmila S. Costello
Retrincon Publishing
About · Contact · Privacy
© Retrincon Publishing